Peanut Butter and Jam Donuts – Cool Summer Alternative to Baking Bread

Jelly Donuts with Drained Greek Yogurt and Tangy Plum Preserves

Jelly Donuts with Drained Greek Yogurt and Tangy Plum Preserves

Inspired by Share Your Cool & Easy Recipes for Surviving The Desert Heat by Paulette L Motzko, this donut recipe is a low heat alternative to baking bread in the summer.  The donuts are deep fried on an induction burner that can be used either inside or out on the patio. Cooking in high desert summers can really heat up the whole house.  Baking bread indoors is almost out of the question.

I modified  the Refrigerator Roll Dough recipe on page 212 of Betty Crocker’s Cookbook printed in 1983. I substituted a very ripe banana for a portion of the mashed potatoes.by mashing a banana into a 1 cup measuring cup and filling the remaining space with left over mashed potatoes. Since the banana is sweet and I have a diabetic in the house, I skipped the sugar.  I then followed the directions for raised donuts on page 217.

Doughnut dough rolled out for cutting into doughnuts and filling.

Doughnut dough rolled out for cutting into doughnuts and filling.

I cut the dough into circles and put a dab of peanut butter or peanut butter and home made plum jam on half of the circles.  I wet the edge of the circles with a little water and covered the filled circles of dough with plain circles of dough.  Then I pinched the edges like I would for a pie.

The plain dough circles will cover the filled circles to make filled donuts.

The plain dough circles will cover the filled circles to make filled donuts.

 

After allowing the donuts to raise for an hour, I deep fried them at 375 degrees F according to the directions in the donut recipe.

I skipped sugar and glaze.  Instead, I sprinkle  cinnamon (no sugar for the diabetic) on cooked donuts or drizzled  them with a little condensed milk.

Donuts with drained Greek Yogurt.  The Drained Yogurt has a cream cheese texture.  The drained whey makes a great addition to bread dough.

Donuts with drained Greek Yogurt. The Drained Yogurt has a cream cheese texture. The drained whey makes a great addition to bread dough.

Serve with a hot beverage of your choice, drained Greek yogurt, and tangy canned fruit for a brunch or afternoon tea.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Ornamental Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut Butter and Jam Donuts – Cool Summer Alternative to Baking Bread

  1. Pingback: Plum Good – Call for Recipes – Quick! | Caliche Challenge

  2. Rachel Thana says:

    Sounds so good!!! Check out my blog? I just posted a new recipe! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.