Cool Fix for Gardening on a Hot Day – Banana Smoothie for Electrolyte Balance

A while back I was taking firefighting training for one of my positions as an Environmental Scientist for the State of California.  After fighting a practice blaze with my team, I felt completely depleted. Low blood sugar, I thought.  So, I grabbed a sugary snack.  I didn’t feel better.  Hmmm. Maybe dehydrated, so I downed at least a pint of water.  Didn’t feel any better.  Then I tried chocolate coated expresso beans. Didn’t help either. Where is a diet coke when I need one?  Then the instructors passed out Gatorade. The stuff tasted ghastly, but it worked.  I felt much better. Same effect as Diet Coke without the caffeine.  Later I compared the ingredient labels of Diet Coke and Gatorade side by side.  What  do they have in common?  Potassium.

I brought the experience up with my doctor during my next visit.  He agreed.  He told me that it was common for people in hot climates to not get enough potassium.  “Eat a banana every day,” he said. “That should take care of it.” Ever since then, banana smoothies have been a staple in my summer diet.  These tasty treats are quick, cold, and help my body handle working and gardening in the high desert heat.

Banana Smoothie

Banana Smoothie

Basic Recipe for Banana Smoothie

Add ingredients to a quart canning jar.

Add ingredients to a quart canning jar.

Add the following to a quart canning jar:

1 very ripe banana 

2 cups ice cubes

dash of cinnamon to taste

1 tsp of  vanilla extract or piece of vanilla bean

Add milk until the volume of the jar contents reach where the neck starts to curve.

Attach a blender base to the jar.  Turn it upside down and put on your blender.  Blend to a slushy consistency.  If you need to go out the door with your smoothie, add a canning jar lid to keep it spilling.

Optional additives:

One or more of the following additions can be made to taste.

Replace ice cubes with frozen fruit of your choice.

Replace ice cubes with cubes of frozen coffee.

Add a spoonful of Nutella.

Add a spoonful of peanut butter.

Add a spoonful of almond butter or almond paste.

Garnish with ground nutmeg.

Sweetener of choicehoneyagave syrupsugarsteviaaspartamesucralose, etc. (In general, the lower the glycemic index of your ingredients will result in a more satisfying beverage and better blood sugar regulation. The glycemic indecies for common sweeteners are as follows: Pure honey (58), Agave syrup (10-19), Sugar (58 – 84), stevia (no results), aspartame (no results), sucralose (no results).)

via Apple.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Ornamental Gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.