Chick Pea Tortillas Wrap-up Home Grown Veggies in Tasty Tacos

Yummy!       If you could eat it with a corn tortilla, you could eat it with a chick pea tortilla.

“No more white stuff,” my cardiologist sternly warned me.  I took to the internet for Ideas.

Then Dad sent me an  Article Published on Need to Expand Use of Pulses.  From links in the article, I found Great International Dishes Made From Pulses.  I also found other great sources of recipes from additional web searches.  Only problem, the international recipes called for ingredients that were locally available to the people who traditionally prepared them. I wasn’t finding everything called for in my local supermarket.  So, after reading several recipes, I synthesized the strategies applied with what I had on hand.

Nicely tanned tortilla after flipping.

I already had garbanzo beans, or chick peas, that I purchase in bulk for soups.  So, I made a somewhat gritty flour by putting dry chick peas in my Ninja blender.  Then I added about 3/4 cup liquid per cup of flour to soak a little.  After I let out the chickens, fed assorted critters, woke up my room mate and dressed for the day, I blended them again and prepared my tortillas.  On the first occasion, I ate them with plain Greek yogurt and home canned plum chutney.  Yum!  In some batches, I spiced them with pumpkin pie spice.  Other batches I flavored with curry and garam masala.  Sometimes I used hand squeezed lemon juice mixed with water for the liquid. Orange juice proved too sticky.  Eventually, I settled on making tortillas with ground chick peas and water.

Stuff folded tortilla's with "whats in the fridge" to make tasty tacos.

Chick pea tortillas stuffed with melted cheese, sauteed vegetables, Greek yogurt, sliced salad greens, pickled oranges, and a sweet pepper stuffed with soft cheese rolled in freshly crushed black pepper.

I basically found that if you could eat it with a corn tortilla, you could eat it with a chick pea tortilla.  The chick pea tortillas have a texture similar to corn tortillas, but slightly more crumbly.  Variations in water temperature and soak time alter the texture.  I am still playing with this part of the recipe. Perhaps someone with experience making corn tortillas from scratch, could add a final polish to the process.

The taste is mildly tart and nutty. Thanks to the higher protein content, I can eat vegetable tacos and not feel hungry again in less than an hour.  Of course they are quite tasty with scraps of meat or cheese thrown in too.  Then, I started loosing weight without trying.  Now, I am sold.  So, I am sharing this discovery with you.

Ingredients

1 cup dry, uncooked chick peas. Also known as garbanzo beans.

3/4 cup liquid (water will do) at room temperature.

Oil or cooking grease that will take a high temperature.

Directions

  1. Grind dry peas in a double bladed blender into the finest flour you can get.  This step can be done in bulk in advance.  If you live in a community that has ethnic grocery stores, you might be able to get commercially ground flour.

2. Blend 3/4 cup flour with 1 cup warm water. 

3. Soak a while.  I haven’t timed this, but by the time I complete most of my morning routine, the batter is ready for the next step.  You can also prepare a big batch once a week and use a little each day.

4. Blend soaked batter again to the smoothest texture your blender will produce.

5. Prepare a seasoned frying pan. Put grease or oil in a seasoned frying pan. Heat until sprinkled water will dance across the surface.  If the water evaporates instantly, turn down the heat. Pour off the grease.  Wiping the greased pan with a clean dish cloth is optional.  The purpose of greasing the pan in advance is to drive off any moisture that may be in the metal without exposing the metal to air.

 6. Spread batter over the surface of the pan with a spatula as thinly as possible.  This step may take a little practice.  Don’t worry, the dog and chickens will be happy to help you with results that you find unappealing;0

7. Turn down the flame and add a glass lid.

When the tortilla is first put into the pan, the batter will appear glossy and wet.

Uncooked tortilla will appear glossy.

When it appears dry and dull, the tortilla is ready to turn over.

When surface of tortilla becomes dull, turn over.

8. Gently lift the edges of the tortilla until you can slide the spatula underneath it. Then flip it like a pancake.

Nicely tanned tortilla after flipping.

If you want to use the tortilla for a taco, promptly fold it in half. If slightly overcooked, the tortilla will crumble into tasty crackers. Either sprinkle these over a salad or casserole or treat a grateful critter. Then try again.

Serving Suggestions

The tortilla can be eaten plain, with your favorite spread, or stuffed with ingredients of your choosing. Depending on what you do with it, the tortilla will serve as a snack, breakfast, lunch, dessert……..

Enjoy.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chick Pea Tortillas Wrap-up Home Grown Veggies in Tasty Tacos

  1. Pingback: Crispy Pototo Cake Filled with Chickpea Polenta | Caliche Challenge

  2. Reblogged this on Caliche Challenge and commented:

    This recipe also works with yellow split peas.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Plum Good – Call for Recipes – Quick! | Caliche Challenge

Leave a Reply

