Chicken Home

0228161414a

Aviary – Chicken Home Made from Bent Conduit and Chain Link Fencing.

0320161111a

This yellow rose is the most mature of many vines that I planted for shade and cover in the aviary.  My chickens love to snuggle against it in the afternoons.

By request, I am posting images of my chicken’s home.  It is still a work in progress.  The aviary, made with materials that happened to be on hand, provides protection to my chickens, but it isn’t exactly pretty.  I took down an ugly chain-link fence from my front yard and repurposed it.  I bent metal conduit and bolted it into existing posts for a chain link fence to make a frame for a “roof”.  Then I attached a rope to the chain-link fencing and pulled it over the frame.  With time climbing plants will hopefully provide shade and render the monstrosity less ugly with time.

I don’t know what for sure will survive summer Santa Ana winds and hard frosts, so I hedged my bets with several different climbing plants to provide shade and  cover for my birds.  So far I planted the yellow rose (Lady Banks?), a Cecile Brunner rose , a yellow and orange climbing rose, a pink alkaline rose, wisteria, and two grape vines around the fencing.  To date, the yellow rose is growing the fastest and provides the most cover.  I severely pruned back the Cecile Brunner rose last January to paint and weave branches into the chain link fence.   So far I planted a very small bay laurel inside the aviary.  It was burned almost to the ground by frost last winter.  For now, I surrounded it with bricks to protect what is left from frost and digging chickens.

Included in the Aviary is a compost pile.  Compost is thrown at the fence. Second stage compost passes through. First Stage compost and large second stage stay in the compost pile.

IMG_0211

Leaf and Apricot check for table scraps, seeds, greens, and pests that need to be eaten.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Back Yard Farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Home

  1. Pingback: Hen House with Adobe?  How I intend to make life better for my chickens.The Art of Superabode | Caliche Challenge

Leave a Reply

