Studying the National Electric Code with Frick and Frack

IMG_0793

My new pullets needed to learn to not be afraid of humans.  I really needed to spend time with them for socialization training.  I also have a backlog of homework and studying from a series of medical issues in my household.  What to do?  Study with the “girls”.  I had them hanging out on the tile floor until George W. Bush came in through the cat door.  All of a sudden I heard frantic peeping and the flutter of feathers.  I sucked in a big breath of air.  George froze in his tracks. After a big pause, he turned around and went back out through the cat door.  From that point forward, Frick and Frack decided I wasn’t so scary after all.  They spent the rest of the day perched on me while I studied the National Electric Code and did some catch up on the homework. After I put Frick and Frack to bed for the night, George got a good brushing and freshly picked catnip.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Back Yard Farm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

