Planning For New Gate

I purchased a “fixer upper” that needs lots of work.  Now that I am retired, I have the time to take a basic woodworking class.  I intend to build a gate for my final project.  Ambitious for a beginner, I don’t want a basic gate.  I want to design my own custom gate with mortise and tenon joinery.  I also want to use small branches that I pruned from my trees to make pickets.  I want a look that is similar to Japanese bamboo fencing.  I also want to tie the gate design in with the house with a feature that mimics the half circle windows in the front of the house.  Since the Mojave winds have blown latches off of my existing wood gates, I intend to make a wood latch (similar to wood bars on fortresses) that will hold.

Picture Windows in Front of House

I want the design of my gate to mimic the square topped by a half circle as seen in my front picture windows.

Gate Concept - MS Word

I used Microsoft Word to make this crude conceptual drawing of the gates that I want to build.

Gate Deminsions
This diagram shows the measurements of the openings that the gates will need to fit in.

So far I have studied the following links:

Oak Field Gate. The Woodwright Shop with Roy Underhill

Building a garden gate by Farm Folly

New Wooden Gate by Mike Boden

How to Build a Conduit Fence by DIY Network

Wood Gate Lumber and Joinery Choices

Preventing Sagging in a Large Driveway Gate

Make a Gate Hurdle – YouTube

How to build traditional gate – YouTube

The Wood Wright’s Shop. Episode 10-06: Make A Garden Gate

For this Semester’s Final Project I will make the sidewalk gate.  Driveway entrance gates will be future projects.

Materials I Think I Need for the Sidewalk Gate

2 Redwood 4″x4″x 6′ posts.

3 2″x 6″ Redwood boards in length(s) divisible by 4’6″ for rails

1 1″x 12″ redwood board to frame half circle

2 2’x 6″x 6′ redwood boards to make jams

2 2″x4″ boards for jams and wood latch

2 2″x4″x ?  to make diagonal braces Need to look up some trig functions here.

3 Lath panels 2’3″ x 8’1″ for “bunny screen”

1 Quart Oil Based paint for lath panels – to match window trim

1 Quart dark brown stain

1 quart exterior polyurethane – mat finish

Many 1/2 inch+ diameter pruned branches for pickets.

3 automatically closing hinges (escape artists in the household)

Masonry anchors

Epoxy putty to set anchors in masonry

Hammer drill – rental?

Locking deadbolt

Input from experienced woodworkers is welcome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

