Environmental Horticulture Lab Course at Victor Valley College

Lyn Shirley is teaching an Environmental Horticulture Lab class at Victor Valley College during summer session of 2016.  Below is her message. Be there or be square!

Hello folks. I am teaching a class this summer called AGNR 60 Environmental Horticulture Lab. I am in need of more students enrolling. If you would please forward this message to your members for anyone interested. The class is held once a week on Tuesdays from 9AM – 3:30PM. It’s a great class as we will be going on trips to Joshua Tree National Park, Bolsa Chica, Big Bear Forestry Service and Rancho Santa Botanic Garden. The class project consists of teaching kids at a daycare about gardening and we also help them plant a garden at the daycare. I get materials donated by Osh in Hesperia and American Organics. I even arrange for the local newspaper to come out to take pictures and write up an article about the event.

If anyone is interested they can either e-mail me or call my cell phone at 805.236.3465. Class starts June 21st. If anyone needs help registering I would be more than happy to help them out.

Thank you for your continuing support of the department.

Title Environmental Horticulture Lab
Course Section Number AGNR-60-56808
Description Course Description:
Horticulture laboratory setting for horticulture experience and traditional lecture/lab classes. This setting will further prepare students for employment in the horticulture industry.
Comments
Credits 1.00
CEUs
Start Date 21 June 2016
End Date 9August 2016
Academic Level
UG – Undergraduate

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Garden Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

