Plum Good – Call for Recipes – Please?!

This blog has a mixture of recipes that I tried and recipes that look tempting all organized in one place.  I have a mountain of plums to can and quick! They are falling off of the tree faster than I can collect and process them.

I laid out the basics for how I  can plums in  “Canning Santa Rosa Plums”.  In spite of being very low in sugar and extremely tangy, all things plum flew off of my pantry shelves  last year. My family wasted no time returning empty plum jars.  In addition to unsweetened whole plums, I canned the following recipes last year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cinnamon-Plum Chutney

Spiced Plum Chutney

Richly Spiced Plum Chutney

Plum Chutney – Aloobukhare ki Chatni

Of the assorted plum chutneys that I made last year, The aloobukhare ki chatni was easily my favorite. The black pepper gave it a wonderful kick.  I ate it on everything from pancakes, as fill for peanut butter and jam donuts,  to curry dinners.  Particularly tasty was plum chutney on plain chick pea tortillas. I intend to can extra batches of Plum Chutney – Aloobukhare ki Chatni this year.

If any of you happen to know of a low starch aka “no white stuff” use for plums, please speak up and direct me to your blog!  Even suggestions for key words to search would be helpful.  I would love to try a recipe for plum fruit leather as well.   Although I am supposed to avoid “white stuff”, I am hoping to find a nice plum cake of some sort to try.  Some links to recipes that look tempting are as follows:

Times Classic Original Plum Torte 

This one looks like it will have to be a special occasion treat.  Sugar and white flour are not supposed to be in my diet at all. Maybe I can take it to a group gathering to share the sweetness.

Whole Wheat Plumb Cake

Closer to what I should be eating.

Vienna Plum Cake – Low Carb and Gluten Free

This recipe looks like the cat’s meow.  Only almond flour sells for about $6 dollars a pound.  My baby almond tree put out one flower this year. Perhaps when it grows up, this recipe – or one like it – can become a regular part of my diet.
Plum Tart with only 15 Grams of Carbohydrate

This recipe looks really good. Again, it calls for nuts which are have become pricey since research revealed how healthy they are.

 

via Apple.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plum Good – Call for Recipes – Please?!

  1. Hey you can understand Urdu! Wow!
    And aloobukhare ki chatni is YUM. if made right. it’s served at EVERY wedding/event here. because it is just so good! I eat it as is! and now my mouth is watering just thinking about it. haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

