Pulse Pie Crusts

Chick Pea Crust for Open Pies

I found this recipe for a pie crust made with chick pea flour embedded in a chickpea quiche recipe. For now, I need a wheat free recipe to  make pies out of my abundant crops of apricots, plums and nectarines.  When kale is in season, I might try the quiche recipe.

Ingredients

2 ½ cups chickpea flour
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
6 tablespoons olive oil
6 tablespoons water

Instructions

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F and lightly grease a 9 or 10-inch tart pan.
2. Whisk together the chickpea flour, salt and baking powder.
3.  Add the oil and water and stir until the dough comes together. If dough is
too crumbly and dry, add additional water, a tablespoon at a time,
until it comes together.
4. With damp hands, press the dough evenly into the prepared pan.
5.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until crust is firm and dry to the touch
and is just starting to brown.
6. Remove from the oven.
7. Add warm pie filling.
8. Bake 30 minutes or until filling starts to bubble.
About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

