Gluten Free Gingered Quince Muffins

 

The storm blew most of my quince off of the tree and I have a new gluten free baking flour from WinCo bulk section that I just had to tryout.  Of course, quince muffins would be my first solution.  I did a brief web search.  There are a lot more tasty looking quince muffin recipes floating around than there were the first time I searched.  They all called for ingredients that I didn’t have on hand.  Not in the mood to run to the store, I needed a work around.  I pulled out an old friend, Betty Crocker’s Cookbook, New and Revised Edition. I learned to cook with Betty Crocker when I was pulling the chair in front of the stove so I could reach the range top.  Shhhhhhh…….. Don’t tell Mom.  I’ll get in sooooooooooo much trouble!  My hard copy edition of Betty’s Crocker didn’t exactly have a gluten free quince muffin recipe either.  I mean, my copy was printed in 1978 when I no longer could pull Mom’s off of the shelf.  She did have an apple muffin recipe (p. 199), and I have been modifying her recipes for years.  If you want a great starting point for muffin recipes (an a lot of other tried and true basics) getting a copy of her book is an absolute must.

The following is the modified version that I made this morning.  It is fragrant, mildly sweet, moist, and very tasty. It makes a great stand alone light breakfast or it can be served with eggs and other sides.

Gingered Quince Muffins

Dry Ingredients

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • *1 teaspoon black strap molasses
  • *1 table spoon maple syrup
  • 1 cup chopped quince

*or substitute 1/3 cup sugar

Chunky Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries or raisins
  • 1 cup chopped quince

 

Directions

Prepare

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Grease 12 cups in medium muffin pan or 6 cups in a small loaf pan.
  3. Sprinkle liberal layer of almond flour on the bottom of the greased pan.
  4. Prepare quince: core, cut off bruises, dice.

Mix Batter

  1. Blend wet ingredients with food processor.
  2. Gently pulse in dry ingredients.  Mix until just damp.
  3. Gently stir “chunky” ingredients.  Stir only enough to distribute chunky ingredients evenly throughout batter.

Bake

  1. Add batter to muffin or loaf cups.
  2. Sprinkle almond flour on top of each muffin/loaf.
  3. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes.
  4. Rotate tin in oven. Add a dab of butter on top of each muffin/loaf.
  5. Bake 10 more minutes until golden tan. Poke a sample muffin with a wooden skewer.  It will come out clean with no batter attached when muffins are done.
  6. Draw knife between edge of each muffin and tin.
  7. Cool until slightly warm.
  8. Gently lift muffin out of tin and serve.

Enjoy

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

