Easy Quince Custard Pie

Today I am doing some “clean the fridge cooking” prior to going out for major grocery shopping.  I had a container of cooked quince puree that I needed to use.  Well, it sort of looks like pumpkin pie filling……. So, maybe I could substitute if for pumpkin in a pumpkin pie recipe?  Only one way to find out.  I pulled out my handy copy of Betty Crocker’s Cookbook and found a handy recipe for pumpkin pie on page 299.  Of course I didn’t follow it exactly.  I wanted to use a “no white stuff” pie shell.  I thought that the recipe for Swedish Almond Tarts on page 304 would do the trick.  Swedish Almond tarts call for 2 egg whites per cup of ground blanched almonds.  What to do with the extra egg yolks?  Well……. Put them in the custard?  Then I adjusted the spices to go with the flavor of quince.

The end result was a tasty custard pie with a crispy, cruchy crust.  My entire house smelled like roses while it was baking.  Getting the crust out of the pan was a bit tricky.  Maybe next time I’ll try lining the pan with parchment paper or rice paper.

Almond Meringue Pie Shell

Ingredients

  • 5 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar or Splenda
  • 1/2 cup ground blanched almond or 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 teaspoon cooking oil.  Use an oil that can be used at 425° F .

Directions

  1. Rub a pie pan or with cooking oil that can take high temperatures.  I prefer to use coconut oil.
  2. Whip egg whites until fluffy.
  3. Gently fold in sweetener and almond flour.
  4. Spread mixture evenly on bottom and sides of 8″ pie pan.
  5. Fill a second, 9″ pie pan with water.  Place the 8″ pan with crust in the larger pan.  The water filled pan under the pie pan will prevent the crust from scalding and burning while the filling cooks.

Quince Pie Filling

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup cooked and pureed quince
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 2/3 cups sugar or Splenda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups scalded milk
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup (optional)

Mix ingredients in a bowl and add to the pie crust.

Quince Custard Pie

  1. Fill crust lined pan with quince filling and bake at 350° F until a knife inserted in the middle of the custard filling comes out clean.  That should be about 1 hour.
  2. Remove bottom pan with water and increase temperature to 425 F.  Bake until almond crust is a golden brown.
  3. Work a knife along the edge of the pie between the crust and pie pan.
  4. Allow pie to cool at room temperature in a location that is away from drafts.
  5. Serve and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Quince Custard Pie

  1. Joëlle says:

    I don’t know if you can read French (or if Google can be of any help!) but here is a recipe for a meringue that might work out better. It’s called Swiss meringue: apparently, there are several types in the meringue category… Since retiring I’ve learned something new every day!

    Like

    • I wish I could read French. I did start out with a recipe for Swiss meringue from Betty Crocker. I was thinking of putting a thicker layer of butter on the pan first before batter. I guess I’ll have to Google for more recipes. I am hoping that by posting my experience, I will attract input from someone who can give me some pointers. At least the custard part of the quince pie turned out well. Maybe your idea of working with chick pea water for a starch free crust would work. Would you be willing to blog more information on that? For now I better run off to my class on plumbing repairs………..

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joëlle says:

    Thank you for the recipe: I have quince purée sleeping in my freezer. I love the idea of a meringue shell with quince filling. Bookmarking it. May try it with some chick pea juice (“aquafaba”) instead of all egg whites.

    Like

    • Please post your results. I think the next time I make a quince custard pie, I will toast the meringue a little before adding the filling. I still need a hack for getting the meringue out of the pie shell in one, pretty piece. The end product was tasty, but not pretty enough for company or pictures. So, the recipe needs a little perfecting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

