Mystery Blogger Award 2017

I would like to thank Joëlle from Sulfite-Free Cooking for nominating me for this Mystery Blogger Award, created by Okoto Enigma.

Mystery Blogger Award

 

WHAT IS MYSTERY BLOGGER AWARD?

Mystery Blogger Award” is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.”

Rules

  • Display Award Logo
  • List The Rules
  • Mention Creator Of Award & Provide A Link
  • Thank The Blogger(s) Who Nominated You & Provide A Link
  • Say 3 Things About Yourself
  • Nominate From 10 to 20 Bloggers
  • Notify Nominated Bloggers By Leaving A Comment On Their Blog
  • Answer 5 Questions From Nominee
  • Write 5 Questions For Your Nominees
  • Share Your Best Post

 

About Myself

I am a retired Environmental Scientist and Botanist who had to rethink life long gardening habits and practices after moving to the Mojave Desert.  My former work in botany and environmental science heavily influenced my gardening adventure as evidenced by my use of native plants that grow in gardens predominantly irrigated by stormwater.

When I started getting successful at growing some of my own food, I was confronted with what to do with an abundance of what is in season.  Hence I started posting recipes that not only used my produce, but also complied with the riot act that my cardiologist read to me.  “No white stuff,” she said.  So much for pies and cobblers to use up all that fruit.  I really needed to rethink what I ate. What exactly do I do with bushels of quince, apricots, plums and nectarines when I only need a teaspoon of jam or jelly a day?

After retirement, I went back to school to learn how to repair and renovate my home.  Since this major allocation of time is rarely relevant to gardening and living in the High Desert, it is rarely mentioned.

I also volunteer for the Friends of Juniper Flats.  Observations that I make of plants, soil, and stormwater while out on monitoring hikes with the Friends often inspire me with ideas to try in my garden.

Posts That I Nominate for the Award

I found out about some of the bloggers that I admire the most by back tracking likes to their posts. These are the ones that stand out the most.

Storyshucker

Stuart M. Perkins writes one of the first blogs that I started following.  His stories still grab and inspire me.

Mind Your Dirt

When you need a good laugh, go visit James Gielow.  His garden blog mixes art, humor, and pure silliness.

Indu’s International Kitchen

I don’t always have the ingredients Indu uses, but I think of new ways to use what I do have after visiting her blog.  Many of my favorite dishes where inspired by her.

keralas.live 

Sumith turns food into artwork. His blog is a joy to view.

 

Soils Matter, Get the Scoop!

The Dirt on Dirt.  Gardening starts from the ground up.  This site provides peer reviewed blogs published by the Soil Science Society of America. A must for every gardener.

CastIronDan

Cast Iron Dan is a foodie who resides in the High Desert.  Visiting his blog is kinda like dropping in on a neighbor.  I never know what I will find. I just know I will feel good when I do.

thekitchensgarden

Celia posts observations and fantastic photos from her life on the farm.

Philosophical Epiphany

Wonderful artwork.  Thought provoking blogs

Recipes with pointers on food photography.  Good eye candy.

I’ve Got Cake  

  •  Do you have a motto?

I like to go by my Great Grandfather’s motto:  “A problem is an opportunity in disguise”

  • What makes your day?

Well that depends on the day.  The most powerful experience that makes my day is to see joy in someone’s eyes in response to something that I did.  

  • What do you find hardest when blogging?

The hardest part of blogging is what I am not doing because I got caught up in blogging. Anticipating what others will enjoy or like is also hard.  

  • The name of an unusual dish you would like to share ?

Acorn bread

  • If you were a tour guide, what place would you show me?

Yosemite National Park.  I grew up 2 hours from Yosemite. I can’t remember the first time my mother took me there.  I would have been too small.  I can’t count how many times I have visited Yosemite, yet entry into the park from the tunnel over looking Yosemite Valley grabs my breath every time. If you want an inspirational experience, Yosemite is the place to go.

Questions for Nominee’s

  • What is the best thing you ever did?
  • If you could start life over knowing what you know now, what is one thing that you would do differently?
  • When you need to cheer yourself up after a tough day, what do you do?
  • What do you like most about blogging?
  • If you could plan a day without any constraints such as budget, travel or obligations, what would you choose to do?

My Best Posts

Ok, so I am an eldest child.  Selecting a favorite is really hard. My favorite posts aren’t necessarily the most popular.  Go figure.

Mojave Roadside Swale Blooms After Desert Rains

Disbelief that vegetated swales could occur in the desert is the final push that got me blogging in the first place.  When I worked as an Environmental Scientist, countless engineers told me that you can’t have vegetated swales in the desert.  “That only works on the East Coast” they told me.  So after I retired, I posted pictures of my very own vegetated swale in the desert.

Thank You Dad

My Dad put “Dirt in my blood.”  He taught me a lot about life too. This off-topic post was originally for Father’s Day.

Spicy Minty Quince Salad

The most productive plant in my yard has been my quince tree.  Figuring what to do with all those quince proved to be a bit of a challenge. This is one of my favorite quince recipes. Hearty thanks to bloggers from India, who inspired me to look at fruit differently.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Award and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mystery Blogger Award 2017

  1. Indu says:

    Congratulations to you! And thank you for the nomination. You are so kind!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. awwwww thank you so much for the kind words!
    Congratulations on your nomination, you go girl!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

