March Planting List for Home Grown Vegetables – Town of Apple Valley, California

“What can I grow here?” is common question the circulates among gardeners new to an area.  When I first moved into my home, I started a plant list searchable by planting date in Microsoft Access.  I got my information by looking at planting date maps on the back of seed packages. Unfortunately my computer that could run Access died some time ago, but while dusting earlier this week I stumbled on a print out of my planting list.  Yes!

Planting Strategy

When I put in a vegetable garden by seed, I plant a little of each crop or variety every two weeks or so until the end of the planting season.  I have multiple reasons for doing this: climate variability, time management, and harvest management.

The most critical reason for staggering planting in the High Desert is that our climate is highly variable from year to year.  We can get very warm spells in February followed by devastating hard frosts as late as May.  We can also get 100° F or more temperatures with low humidity and high winds in May.  Yes, a hard frost and high temperatures can even happen in the same week!  A date that is too early to plant in one year can be too late in another.  So, I hedge those bets.  Plant a little every two weeks or so.  That way at least one planting will be just right.

Like many back yard growers, my most pressing obligations are not my vegetable garden.  To optimize a few hours spent in the yard here and there, I will plant a few rows of vegetables a week.  By breaking up a big task into lots of little tasks with an hour that is available here and there, I eventually get overwhelming tasks done.

Harvest management is another argument for planting a few rows a week.  Seriously, how many radishes can you eat in a week?

List Organization

The following lists plants that can be started by seed during the month of March in USDA Plant Hardiness Zone 8b and Sunset Climate Zone 10. The planting list is in alphabetical order by the plant common name.  The last month of the planting season for that crop is listed after a dash.  The list is for outdoor planting unless otherwise specified.

Crop – Plant from March until

  • Asian melon – May
  • Asparagus – April
  • Banana wax pepper, indoors – August
  • Basil, indoors – September
  • Beets – May
  • Bell Pepper, indoors – July
  • Bok Choy – April
  • Bush pea – March
  • Chickory -?
  • Eggplant, indoors – April
  • Endive – ?
  • Fenugreek – ?
  • Golden bush beans, – August
  • Hungarian wax peppers, indoors – August
  • Kale, indoors – April
  • Kohl rabbi – April
  • Komatsuna – April
  • Lettuce, outdoors after or during rain storm – April
  • Lima bean – August
  • Radish – May
  • Radicchio – ?
  • Romain lettuce – April
  • Rutabaga – ?
  • Snow pea – April
  • Spinach – April
  • Sweet corn – September
  • Swiss Chard – April
  • Thyme (at 70° F) – September
  • Tomato, indoors – April
  • Turnip – March

Call for List Additions

If you have success growing vegetables from seed in USDA Zone 8B or Sunset Climate Zone 10, please add to the list and share your experiences.

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard, I am taking Construction Technology Classes at Victor Valley College and working on my "fixer upper" home.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden, Plant List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March Planting List for Home Grown Vegetables – Town of Apple Valley, California

  1. markmhamann says:

    I just came in from the garden, the fenugreek reseeded itself and it is now blooming! Can you post a recipe for the radish pickle?

    Like

    • karlium says:
      March 8, 2017 at 12:16 pm (Edit)
      That’s great. I am a lazy gardener but at least trying this year, mostly for the wildlife and because people can see the garden at the river from the road… I don’t use a recipe, the one I tried didn’t work out but maybe because I used tap water. I slice up the veg into 1 to 2 cm thick pieces, place in large bowl, toss in seasalt, and let the salt draw out the water overnight. Then, put herbs (optional) in clean pickle jar, pack in tightly the veg, including salty water and add distilled water to submerge everything. Loosely cap. Leave at room temp. Swirl uncapped every day or so. Should be ready in a wk but use your judgment. White film is normal, onion smell also; putrid smell or mushy texture not good. I have to make a pickling post. Thanks for reminding me!

      Like

  2. amaranto es says:

    I just came in from the garden, the fenugreek reseeded itself and it is now blooming!

    I just came in from the garden, the fenugreek reseeded itself and it is now blooming!

    Like

  3. DevBlog says:

    I just came in from the garden, the fenugreek reseeded itself and it is now blooming! I slice up the veg into 1 to 2 cm thick pieces, place in large bowl, toss in seasalt, and let the salt draw out the water overnight.

    Like

  4. Thank you for both the recipe and for inspiring the next blog:) I will add fenugreek to the list. How did you know what was coming up?

    Like

  5. karlium says:

    I just started a few seeds indoors. Are you interested in growing fenugreek or endive? Also, looking forward to a large radish crop to pickle, salad and freeze!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Karlium,

      Thanks for the visit and comment. Last year my cardiologist, Dr. Yelamanchili, gave me some fenugreek seeds. I sowed some and was delighted that they came up in my furrows. I just came in from the garden, the fenugreek reseeded itself and it is now blooming! I also have a nice head of endive that volunteered itself over winter. Can you post a recipe for the radish pickle?

      Like

      • karlium says:

        That’s great. I am a lazy gardener but at least trying this year, mostly for the wildlife and because people can see the garden at the river from the road… I don’t use a recipe, the one I tried didn’t work out but maybe because I used tap water. I slice up the veg into 1 to 2 cm thick pieces, place in large bowl, toss in seasalt, and let the salt draw out the water overnight. Then, put herbs (optional) in clean pickle jar, pack in tightly the veg, including salty water and add distilled water to submerge everything. Loosely cap. Leave at room temp. Swirl uncapped every day or so. Should be ready in a wk but use your judgment. White film is normal, onion smell also; putrid smell or mushy texture not good. I have to make a pickling post. Thanks for reminding me!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

