Apricot Vinegar Anyone?

A year ago I sealed apricots, vinegar, bread, yeast and sugar in a food grade white bucket and stuck it in my HVAC intake vent.  With school out, I thought I would pull it out and see what I got.  It smells a lot like apple cider vinegar.  It tastes a lot like apple cider vinegar.  For vinegar, it smells and tastes pretty good.

No now what? What on earth am I going to do with ten gallons of vinegar?  With ten gallons of apricot brandy, I could easily find friends to help me out.  But vinegar?

There is also the question of how do I keep the stuff.  Put it back in the HVAC vent? Should I can it?  Make pickles with it? Use if for a life time of salad dressing?  Does anyone out there have similar experiences?  If so, what did you do?

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard or and working on my "fixer upper" home, I am working as an Apprentice Glazier
This entry was posted in Kitchen Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment