Curve Ball Creates New Trajectory

Life can catch me by surprise sometimes. Just when I thought I had everything figured out, I get a curve ball that changes everything. This time the change was for for the better. After I retired, I rode my bicycle to Victor Valley College to learn how to renovate my upside down home. Time was more abundant than discretionary money, so I thought I would convert some of that time into home improvements to improve both the quality of my life and my net worth. I poured myself into my studies and lab classes while both my garden and blogging slid into the background. I completed two building permits for electrical improvements and replacement of drywall and insulation after a plumbing disaster. During the winter of 2019/2020, I participated in a class that built a garage from the ground up. There I learned that I has happier running a jack hammer and roofing with the guys on a bad day than I was at home by myself on a good day. I was hooked. About the time COVID-19 put an end to in-person lab classes, the Glazier’s Union accepted me as an apprentice. I couldn’t be happier. Who would have guessed?

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard or and working on my "fixer upper" home, I am working as an Apprentice Glazier
This entry was posted in Caliche Living, Construction, High Desert Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment