Free Days at Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Gardens

Rancho Santa Ana Botanical Garden is a great place to view and purchase plants that grow well in Southern California.  Their collections and nursery include plants that do well in the Mojave Desert.  Their botanists are also a great resource.  The bookstore includes books on: propagation of native plants, gardening with native plants, and drought tolerant plants.

If you purchase plants from them, be sure to verify that the plants will do will in the high desert.  Site specific variables include: tolerance for frost (especially in mid to late spring), soil pH, soil texture (clay, silt, sand or loam), water requirements (very dry to inundation), heat tolerance, and nutrient requirements.

 

Information can be found at:  Free Spring Day with Discount at Native Nursery

About Caliche Chick

I retired from a career as an Environmental Scientist and Botanist. My first career was teaching science and English as a Second Language (ESL), and content classes for ESL students at the middle school level. I also taught introductory biology at the community college level. I have an avid interest in plants that grow with little to no irrigation. I also keep a vegetable garden, fruit trees, and back yard chickens. When I am not in my yard or and working on my "fixer upper" home, I am working as an Apprentice Glazier
This entry was posted in Ornamental Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment